9:00 – 10:00 Registration
10:00 – 11:00 Inauguration Ceremony
Welcome Address by
  • Shri Prakash S Mhaske, Chairperson CEA
  • Shri Mrityunjay Kumar Narayan, JS Distribution, MoP*
  • Ms. Christiane Hieronymus, Head of Economic Cooperation & Development, Embassy of the Federal Republic of Germany*
  • Michael Satin, Director, USAID*
11:00 – 11:30 Tea/ Coffee Break
11:30 – 13:00 Plenary Session 1 – Market Enablers
Changing consumer demands and expectations, evolving business models and upcoming players are expected to transform the utilities entirely. This session discusses the changing canvas of the Utilities

Keynote Address- Mr. Anil Sardana CEO, Adani Transmission Limited*

Session Moderator- Mr. Vikas Gaba, KPMG

  • Arbind Prasad, Chairman JSERC
  • Vibhu Kaushik, Director of T&D Business Strategy, SCE
  • Arindam Maitra, EPRI
  • Allen Eisendrath, CEO Systems
  • Paul Nelson, Vice President, ITRON
  • Q&A
13:00 – 13:15 WUS 2020 Delegates Group Photo
13:15 – 14:00 Networking Lunch
14:00 – 14:30 Special Session 1
Topic 1- Need for quality training and 5S initiatives for a sustainable Power Distribution Utility – BRPL experience by Mr. Amal Sinha, CEO, BRPL

Topic 2 – To be confirmed shortly
14:30 – 16:00 Plenary session 2 – Revenue Security
With availability of the multiple options for consumers to meet their demand and increase of prosumers, revenue of the Utilities are under threat. This session discusses the trends in revenues, future threats and mitigation strategies.

Keynote Address- Ms. Palka Sahni, IAS, Executive Director, PFC

Special Address- Mr. Debasish Banerjee, Managing Director – Distribution, CESC

Moderator- Mr. Suman Ghorai, CRISIL

  • Mr. Anand B. Kulkarni (Former IAS) Chairperson, MERC*
  • Dr. Marcus Merkel Senior Advisor to the Board of Management EWE NETZ
  • GmbH, Oldenburg (Germany)
  • Mr. Megat Jalaluddin Chief Retail Officer, TNB Malaysia*
  • Mr. Sonam Tobjey, Chief Executive Officer, Bhutan Power Corporation Limited (BPCL)
  • Q&A
16.00 – 16.30 Tea/ Coffee Break
16.30 – 18.00 Plenary session 3 – Grid Transformation – Renewables and Electric Vehicles
Increasing penetration of existing technologies like renewables and upcoming technologies like electric vehicles requires changing the way grids are being operated. This session discusses impact of these technologies on the grid and required changes in the operations.

Keynote Address- Mr. Robert Klaffuss, CEO, Siemens Digital Grid*

Moderator- Prof. Martin Braun HOD, Fraunhofer IEE Kassel, Germany

  • Ms. Prabhjot Kaur CEO, Center for Battery Engineering and Electric Vehicle IIT Madras
  • Mr. KVS Baba, CMD POSOCO
  • Mr. Siriwat Chedsi, Assistant Director Power Plant Engineering Division, EGAT, Thailand
  • Q&A
14:00 – 14:30 Special Session 2
1. Women empower
2. CEO Round Table*
19:00 – 22:00 Gala Dinner

Opening Address

Mr. Sanjeev Kumar,
Principal Secretary- Energy Maharashtra and CMD- MSETCL

10:00 – 11.30 Plenary session 4 – Enabling Technologies – Digitalization & Cyber security
Digitalization will generate substantial amount of data and connect all assets & operations allowing higher efficiency. While digitalizing the grids, cyber security need to be enhanced to reduce systemic risks. This session discusses trends in digitalization, threats from cyber-attacks and way forward.

Keynote Address- Mr. Praveer Sinha, CEO & Managing Director- Tata Power, India

Moderator- Mr. Ketan Shah, MD, Accenture

  • Prof. Sebastian Lehnhoff, Full Professor “Energy Informatics“ Carl-von-Ossietzky-University of Oldenburg
  • Mr. Rajesh Bansal, Head Network Operations, BSES Rajdhani Power Limited
  • Mr. Ian Mcleod, Director Smart Energy Enzen
  • Mr. Elad Shaviv, CEO, Israeli Smart Energy*
  • Mr. P K Agarwal, CIO, POSOCO
  • Q&A
11:30 – 12:00 Tea/ Coffee Break
12:00 – 13.30 Plenary session 5 – Policy & Standards
With rapidly changing landscape of the Utilities, new approach need to be taken by the policymakers. This session will discuss the view of policymakers on the evolving landscape, recent trends and key considerations for future policymaking.

Keynote Address- Mr. P.K.Pujari, Chariman, CERC*

Special Address- Mr. R Lakshmanan, IAS, Executive Director, REC Ltd

Moderator- NSGM

  • Mr. Vimal Mahendru, Member, IEC Standardization Management Board (SMB)
  • Mr. Bernhard Ernst, Group Manager Grid Planning and Operation bei Fraunhofer IEE
  • Mr. Sam Sciacca, Senior Director, Technical Program Operations, IEEE Standards Association
  • Ms. Anjuli Chandra, Member, PSERC
  • Q&A
13:30 – 14:30 Networking Lunch
14:30 – 15:00 Special Session
15:00 – 16:30 Plenary session 6 – Energy Storage
(Joint Session with eTechNxt)
Energy storage have versatile role in to play in operating grids and providing value to all the stakeholders. This include balancing demand and supply, regulating frequency, managing renewables and providing autonomy for consumers. Energy storage will also play a very important role in achieving full potential of new and upcoming technologies. This track will cover the latest developments in technologies, new business models, grid dynamics, learnings from pilot demonstrations and operational considerations associated with these technologies.

Keynote Address- Mr. Sanjay Banga, President T&D, Tata Power Mumbai

Moderator- Dr. Rahul Walawalkar, IESA

  • Dr. Jochen Bard, Head of Energy Process Engineering in Fraunhofer IEE
  • Mr. Chakphed Madtharad, Manager of Smart Grid Planning Division System Planning Department, Provincial Electricity Authority (PEA), Thailand
  • Mr. Sharma Kolluri, Manager, Transmisison Planning, Entergy Fellow, IEEE, US
  • Mr. Imre Gyuk, Director, Energy Storage Research, U.S. Department of Energy*
  • Ms. Carla J Peterman, Senior Vice President Regulatory Affairs, Southern California Edison*
  • Q&A
16:30 – 17:30 Valedictory Session
17:30 – 18:00 Tea/ Coffee and Networking

*This is tentative agenda and subject to further changes.